What is worth doing and what is not?

I was going through the resources that Chad Walsh and I created for our workshop at EARCOS last year, “Creating a Community of Learners” and I realised that I hadn’t been using one of my favourites to inform my decisions.

This flowchart is designed to help teachers make decisions about what is worth doing with students, and what is not. It is designed to get us out of the habit of doing things “because we always have” or “because we did it last year”. In my opinion, those are really lame reasons for even the best laid plans.

Use the flowchart to rethink, to criticize, to question, to examine and to arrive at plans that really do promote student empowerment, experience and engagement and also give you the chance to gather evidence of genuine learning.

Leave a Reply

