Online Collaboration

I have been contacted by a teacher called Layla Sacker from Mt. Scopus Memorial College in Melbourne. She is in the process of developing a new unit of inquiry and would like it to have a strong literature focus. She contacted me because of the work my Y6 students did with her school in the build up to their PYP Exhibition and because she knows that I am interested in planning processes and, more particularly, planning units that are quite focused.

Layla will put a planning document onto GoogleDocs and then a number of us will feed into the document when we can. GoogleDocs is a very powerful tool that I would like to learn more about, perhaps you would too?

Would you be interested in joining in this experiment? Here are the positives:

  • Good experience planning a unit of inquiry from scratch
  • Good experience to plan with no personal attachment
  • Good to plan a unit of inquiry that has a focus
  • Good to learn about how to use GoogleDocs
  • Good to establish connections with other teachers and schools

Let me know if you’re interested and I’ll inform Layla.

Image from http://www.openpages.com/blog/index.php/2010-grc-wish-list-collaborate
5 comments

    • Mr. Sam

      Hey Gareth… great news, Layla and co. will be very excited to have several schools involved. I’ll put your name down.

      Are we going to see you at the Think Tank tomorrow?

  1. filearning

    Most definitely in on the planning! Layla knows as I’m just down the hall from her office:-)
    I would like to contribute to the Wallwisher, but I couldn’t add my thoughts; I must have missed something in the process!

Leave a Reply

