Give parents a voice right away!

I forgot to do this last year, but usually I ask the parents of my new students each year to write to me. I ask them to tell me all about their child, to tell me who they are as people and as learners and, basically, to tell me anything that might help me to be a better teacher for them.

Parents love this. They love to have the opportunity to express themselves and give their perspectives about their children. They appreciate being able to do this in a positive way, before parent-teacher conferences or even before something goes wrong.

I learn so much from my students parents, things that may have taken me a long time to find out for myself.

I fully recommend giving this a try. Let me know if you do and how it goes.

Image from RowdyKittens on Flickr
One comment

  1. Jeannette Monahan

    What a great idea! I wish my kids’ teachers would have done that. All we usually got was a couple lines on a page of basic information — “Is there anything else I need to know about your child?” I usually left is blank. Being asked to write a short letter would have been nice.

Leave a Reply

