12 Months

image

Being away and having time and space to think and feel always does wonders. If money was not an issue and you could take 12 months off from work, how would you spend your time?

I’ve often thought about this idea. What experience would I like to do, but never would do.  I’ve thought about getting an excavator license, learn how to fly a helicopter, open a yoga and meditation retreat, or a sheesha lounge. Today, as I was riding through a simple and peaceful village this idea struck me like a lightening rod.

I would love to live on a farm and learn how to cultivate and harvest crops. I’ve always wondered about agriculture and how it works. My own sustainable farm. This would be on a much smaller scale though. I want to learn how to live off the land, with whole foods and learn how to cook. In the process live each day in its simplest form. Away from civilization as I know it and the commercial world that surrounds it. Trading things wrapped in plastic packaging for banana leaves. Being conscious of my environmental footprint. All the stuff we teach kids, but don’t really do ourselves. Yes, I’m talking to you.

What is stopping me? Money. Job security. A mortgage….

Well, yes. These things do limit most people. And it is the reality we have created. But, more and more people are starting to take sabaticals leaving their high-paying jobs to seek something more nourishing and fulfilling. Sounds good doesn’t it!

We all have dreams. We all dream about doing the things we love doing or can’t live without, yet how many people do you know that are actually living their dream? Are you?

I really need to consider how I can live the life I want to experience, even if it is only for a short period. The learning that would happen during this time would truly be unforgettable. Eating healthy and whole foods, farming, water irrigation, cooking, sustainability, making-do with the simple things in life, learning a language and making real community connections. It just goes on and on.

What would you be doing if you had 12 months off? How would you spend your time?

7 comments

    • concentricthinking

      You difiantely have your priorities in order. Your son would love that time away from it all and just be the two of you. Reading. I wonder if your son is a reader too. What a great way to get your son into reading. Theong conversations you would share over books. A really good way to bond. I think the third point on your list is most interesting. Where will this experience and having this time away take you. Thank you for sharing!

    • sherrattsam

      I often think about taking the family and living in a caravan park on a beach for a year. Learn to fish, surf and live cheaply. Spend lots of time together – possibly too much – but have that intimate family bond people probably used to have before all the distraction.

  1. annadelconte

    Hi Sam. I’ve often thought about a time ahead when Mum will have passed away, the grandchildren will be at school and my services are less needed here, and my husband and I will have retired …. if all that holds my heart and body to this place were removed, where would I go? What would I do? I feel the call to teach and work in a remote community. My husband dreams of living and studying in Italy. Who knows? Only time will tell. At the moment we are living one day at a time trying to make this world an easier place to live in for those around us.

    • concentricthinking

      Italy sounds like a great way to spend 12 months. Is that your dream too? That brings up an interesting question, would this be something you are willing to do for your husband to experience and for you to share that with him? If you can’t do something like this in your retirement, when? Wouldn’t it be nice to be a little irresponsible and a little selfish for just a bit, in a healthy and positive way of course.

  2. Stephanie

    A couple years ago I took 6 months off from life. I booked a one way plane ticket out of New Zealand and ventured to all those places I’d always wanted to go but never got the chance to. I’d like to say it was a bold decision, but really just a series of bad life events. It’s funny how it often takes a crisis of some sort for people to peel back the inessential elements of life and focus on what really matters.

  3. iontravis

    1) live near the sea away from any city
    2) learn to hunt (old fashioned way), trap and fish.
    3) grow stuff
    4) work hard (manually) and sleep when its dark
    5) reflect, reflect and reflect some more.

Leave a Reply

