If you find yourself boring yourself…

Recently, I have caught myself boring myself while talking about education.

As a result, I have started to say less in an attempt to stop boring myself. However, I have also found that saying less bores me too.

These are worrying signs that I am on the predictable path many of those who opt for leadership roles in schools find themselves on… the path towards irreversible irrelevance. I am boring because I am not cutting edge anymore. I am not cutting edge anymore because I am not a teacher. Sure, I have my experiences from before, but those become stale and worn the more they are recounted and rehashed. Sure, I have the experiences I gain from spending time in classrooms, but those are gained from teaching vicariously and are not really my stories.

Perhaps boredom is the goal… a form of bliss. But, it’s not working for me.

