Mindfulness and Intention

Mindfulness practice creates a mood, and skillful educators use that mood to help students be at their best.

Often, the mood that is necessary is one of independence, self-management and self-direction. I find it effective to give students a decent 10 minutes of mindfulness practice. Then, in the final stages of that practice, I ask them to consider what their intentions are for the time that follows. What will they try and achieve? What do they need or want to do?

We work towards being very detailed in the description, so rather than say “I will work on my project” they give specific details like “I will research how to split video files so I can edit my movie”. As you can see in this video, some of the students are quite specific and yet others are very vague. With regular practice, they would all be outlining their intentions with more detail.

This sort of strategy not only creates a mood and helps students be self-directed, it also gives the teacher a big picture of what stage each student is up to with the things they’re working on and how organized they are. In this sense, it is also a formative assessment. After the session in this video, I knew exactly which students I needed to give some time to and follow up with.

2 comments

  1. dfinesto

    Sam, once again, as always, your strategies for mindfulness make good sense. Like the idea of encouraging students to think deeply and succinctly re their intentions of the follow up… The more they practice this skill, the better they get at it!

    • sherrattsam

      Exactly… with practice, as I told these students, they could become so independent that the teacher is not really needed – at least not from a management perspective!!!

Leave a comment